Search CFJ

May 04, 2007

Notice: Etrusoft !Quick Screen Recorder payware = CamStudio freeware!

From time to time, I like to check up on software that I especially like, either to see if there have been any major updates, or if there are any new products coming from the developer.

Today, I discovered that there is an impostor out there disguising itself as a paid program download - called 'Etrusoft iQuick Screen Recorder', but was actually CamStudio (which is open source and free)!

According to CamStudio's blog, Etrusoft's "iQuick Screen Recorder" is most likely (albeit probably an older version of the source code) CamStudio rebranded with Etrusoft's logo, but nothing else - even the application icon is the same!

I'm guessing the other applications that Etrusoft is selling are probably suspect as well, but I felt it was my duty to alert you that if you are thinking of buying this software, don't! Instead, support 'the Nick's' efforts over at http://www.camstudio.org.

Here are just a few screenshots for you to compare. Note that CamStudio was recently updated to 2.5, so Nick's source code is a bit newer.

Apologies for the slightly garbled pictures. You should be able to see what I am talking about nevertheless...You can click on each image to get a closer look.



CamStudio (2.5) main window vs "iQuick Screen Recorder" main
window.




CamStudio Video Options window versus Screen Recorder Video Options window.



CamStudio Audio Options window versus Screen Recorder Audio Options window.

I think that this is enough to show that the iQuick Screen Recorder is in fact using the same code-base as CamStudio. Obviously, Etrusoft did not develop this software. And, although I'm not sure, I do believe that they have infringed on the GPL copyright by rebranding the open-sourced code for commercial distribution with no credit to the GPL holder. Someone please clarify this for the rest of us!

You can see my review of Camstudio here:

http://maximillianx.blogspot.com/2006/12/create-flashavi-tutorials-camstudio-20.html

5 comments:

Shankar Ganesh said...

well, are you interested in a link exchange? you can email me at techgurushankar [at] gmail [dot] com

maximillian_x said...

Sounds good - email is on the way to you!

Rob

Anonymous said...

They should get sued for infringing on copyrights

littlemog said...

That's horrible... I also got conned by these guys... wanted to purchase one of the screen video recorders and made a wrong click (i sent more money) on the wrong software. after sending out an email to inform them of the error and 3 further ones after receiving no reply except for the wrong codes, they actually emailed asking for more money to be paid. horrible company. now to hear that they're scammers...

the lucky one said...

The execute screen was already in front, but the looks of the website made me check before clicking. So I guess I will check out the real programmers then.